Three Day Green Smoothie Challenge

Recently, I have been inspired to turn a new leaf, literally. I’m taking part in this whole green smoothie revolution. I know, I know, leafy and green aren’t our favorite words as dieters but the concept seems pretty convincing to me and I have to admit, after purchasing the book, I was a little kid in a candy story (not literally, of course).

The book is written by Victoria Boutenko, the pioneer of the green smoothie revolution. She’s passionate about spreading the health benefits of eating green foods. She believes that eating greens should be simple and fun — hence the smoothies. And so, here I am, giving Victoria a chance to show me the fun.

Victoria’s book is full of recipes ranging from the Morning Zing Smoothie to Sergei’s Party in your Mouth Smoothie (no really, that’s what it’s called).

Day One: I started simple with the Green Julius. It includes: 1 1/2 cups orange juice; 2 cups ice; 2 large mangoes; 2 cups fresh parsley or spinach (I chose spinach because let’s be honest.. parsley in a smoothie? Not ready for that much green yet). I have to say, it was extremely delicious and surprisingly filling. Needless to say I was a happy dieter on day one. I couldn’t even taste the spinach!
Day two: Day two was not as delicious as day one. In fact, it was my least favorite of the three recipes. I combined 1 cup of frozen raspberries, two handfuls of spinach, 1/3 cup coconut flakes, and 1 cup of water. The consistency was chunky no matter how many times I blended it and the overall taste was just unenjoyable.

Day three: I made a smoothie called Every Morning and it was quite possibly the most delicious smoothie I have ever made! I mixed 2 cups spinach, 1 banana, 2 cups of orange juice, and 1 cup of frozen blueberries. It was a lot more filling than day two’s smoothie and even sweeter than the Green Julius.The best part of these smoothies? The calories. By that I mean, you don’t have to worry about the caloric count at all. They are made with all fruits and vegetables and therefore, dieter friendly.If you’re ready for the challenge, let me know how it goes or share your own recipes!Good luck!
Leave a Reply

