Saffron Bulgur with Roasted Vegetables

Yesterday, I took my first steps in being a real person. That’s right world, I cooked a meal. If you know me at all, you know that the stove and I are not pals. In fact, the two of us together is actually a cause for concern. I’ve crossed the stove’s path while on my way to the microwave once or twice, we exchange friendly glances but that’s as far as our relationship goes. However, yesterday we took it to the next level. I boiled and I sauteed and aside from a little mishap with some oil splatters, all went well. (Landlord, if you’re reading, rest easy.)

As you may have read, I’m on a saffron kick. Good for my happy level, bad for my bank account. Ya win some, ya lose some, I guess. Anyway, I stumbled across a recipe for saffron bulgur with roasted vegetables (Fancy!). You may find yourself wondering, what is bulgur? Well, I purchased it and I ate it and I still couldn’t tell you what it is. But, it was delicious and I’m going to tell you how to make it. (If you must know, it’s somewhat comparable to quinoa, but has a more dense consistency)

Note: No humans were harmed in the making of this recipe. Here we go.

Saffron Bulgur with Roasted Vegetables

IMG_4061

What you’ll need:

1 1/2 Cups of Bulgur Wheat (I suggest Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods for this)
3 Cups of vegetable broth
1/2 gram saffron (again, I suggest Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods.. and perhaps a deep breath to brace yourself for the cost)
1 yellow onion
2 cloves of garlic
1/2 chile pepper
1 red bell pepper
1 zucchini
10 cherry tomatoes
1/2 of a lemon (juice)
3/4 Cup of goat cheese
Roasted salted almonds
Olive oil

Servings: 4

Cook the bulgur in vegetable broth for about 10 minutes, add the saffron while cooking. Heat olive oil in a medium skillet on medium heat. Add the onion (sliced or chopped), garlic (minced) and chile pepper (chopped) and let cook for approximately 5 minutes. Then add the bell pepper (sliced), zucchini (thinly sliced), cherry tomatoes (cut in half) and juice from the lemon. Let simmer for another 10 minutes before adding 1/2 cup of the goat cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Mix this heavenly combo with the bulgur. Sprinkle the rest of the goat cheese and some roasted salted almonds on top before serving it. Done!

It was so simple and so easy. Watch out Emerald, I’m comin’ for ya.

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

