Grilled Curried Shrimp w. Mango Couscous and Cocktail

Two real-person, home-cooked meals in one week… it’s like I don’t even know who I am anymore. I have to say, this one did not run as smoothly as the bulgar wheat from a few days ago. By that, I mean I found myself shouting “THIS IS A DISASTER” at one point, while my mother sat at my kitchen counter laughing. Thanks Ma, way to contribute. Anyway, it ended up tasting delicious (can you hear the toot toot of my horn?)

Here’s how to do it!

First: Let’s start with a cocktail because it’s the weekend and that is what weekends are for, no? I was in the mood for something pink so naturally, I googled “pink cocktails” and found a delicious recipe.

2 oz Bacardi
1/2 oz Raspberry liqueur (I used chambord)
1/2 oz Triple Sec
1 oz Pineapple Juice
A splash of Cranberry Juice

Okay now that you’re relaxed with a cocktail (sorry it’s pink, gentlemen), here’s what you’re gonna need for the real deal.

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat couscous
1 mango, peeled and diced
1 teaspoon finely diced jalapeno pepper
freshly squeezed lime juice
2 tablespoons red curry paste
(Note: I accidentally bought curry mix.. it still works, I’ll explain how)
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
finely minced garlic
3/4 pound shrimp, cleaned and shelled, tails on
1 7-ounce container 2 percent greek yogurt
1 teaspoon grated ginger

Serves: 4
Nutrition facts per serving: 405 calories, 31 g protein, 60 g carbohydrate, 6 g fat (1.2g saturated), 9 g fiber

Instructions:
1. Cook the couscous according to package directions. For all you who are new to cooking (I say as I throw my hands in the air) just a little note: boil the water first THEN put the couscous in… I missed that detail.. it complicated my life just a little. Once your couscous is cooked properly, combine with mango, jalapeno pepper, 1 teaspoon of the lime juice. Season with salt and black pepper.

2. (Here’s where all my hope started to fade) In a large bowl, whisk together red curry paste, vegetable oil, 1 tablespoon of garlic, and a tablespoon of lime juice. Add shrimp to coat.

HOWEVER, if you’re a little curry challenged and you purchase the mix instead of the paste — don’t fret, all is not lost. The back of the package will tell you to mix the powder with 2/3 cup water.. do it. Then add the vegetable oil, the garlic and the lime juice. Coat the shrimp. THEN, take the left over juice, put it in a small sauce pan, let it come to a boil and add corn starch to thicken it. Once your shrimp are done grilling, pour the newly-thickened mix over them for added flavor. (Thanks for the tip, Dad!)

3. Mix together greek yogurt, ginger, and 1/2 teaspoon garlic in a small bowl. Season to taste with black pepper.

4. Heat a grill on medium high. Grill shrimp until just cooked, about 2 minutes per side. Arrange shrimp and couscous on a platter and serve with the yogurt sauce. Garnish with lime wedges if desired.

One thought on “Grilled Curried Shrimp w. Mango Couscous and Cocktail

  1. Pingback: Champagne Mango and Shrimp Ceviche Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

